line_gbg70.gif (2214 bytes)

Museums and Libraries
line_gbg70.gif (2214 bytes)

Deutsch

The Imperial Coastal Country Istria on the Southern Railway

© Der Welt
June 5, 2001

In the Kittsee castle in Burgenland (near Hainburg) this summer exhibition is dedicated to Istria, the Venetian, Austrian, Yugoslav coastal country, a multiform reality and pure utopia of Hans Haider. In his last years Fulvio Tomizza, the writer who died in Trieste in 1999, was dreaming about a "Republic of Istria": Istria as a vision of peace in the middle of nationalistic conflicts inflaming once more the Balkans, and at the same time reminiscence of the peculiarity and prosperity attained in the last century by the imperial-royal monarchy (of the Habsburg).

Istria, a peninsula between the Austrian Trieste and the Hungarian Fiume, was at that time nothing more than a small entity in the immense Croatian coastal line, but a nearest maritime park just in front of the hinterland of Graz and Vienna. Today a small part of Istria is Slovenian (Koper [Capodistria], Piran [Pirano], Portoroz [Portorose]). The larger part is incorporated in the Republic of Croatia (Porec [Parenzo], Rovinj [Rovigno], Pula [Pola], Pazin [Pisino], Opatija [Abbazia]).

From Stefanie to Moskow

At the extremity of Istria, in Pola, the Austrian navy was protected from the open sea by the islands of Brioni. Its private owners, the steel industrialists Kupelwieser, had created in Brioni a public garden and animal paradise. After the Second World War the communist leader Tito reserved the island exclusively for himself. The hotel "Kronprinzessin Stefanie" in Abbazia was renamed "Moskva" since Tito was at that time still faithful to the Eastern Block. Under Tito, however, the people of Istria were allowed to go back to their old customs and traditions, which the victorious Italian had wanted to erase there, as well as all the German characteristics in the Alto Adige. Kristian Sotriffer, as a South Tirol person who sadly trusts such population mixing strategies, wrote a beautiful book about Istria and the Karst in 1972.

This year the Austrian Ethnographic Museum selected Istria in its branch office of Kittsee as its summer topic. The exhibition will move to the main house of the Laudongasse in Vienna from October until the following January. Then in spring it will move to the Croatian town of Pazin (the local Etnografiski Muzej Istre is the co-organizer), and perhaps further to Zagreb. A inexpensive instruction book ("Istrien - Aspects") guides you through it. In the late 19th century the young Viennese disciplines of ethnography wanted to make the peoples of the monarchy more interesting to each other: in doing so, ethnography carefully modeled the special out of the total.

In the region which was directly subordinated to the crown in 1848 (before the Romans a part of the Kingdom of Illyria still idealized by Shakespeare) they were looking for the Ur-Istrian, and believed to have found him in the Romanic or Croat-Romanic mixed population of the Cici, retreated from the coastal pastures into the mountains. They should have - according to an anxious Austrian authority report in 1830 - in their isolation "in total silence set up their own government and constitution".

A Cici couple (two dolls in folklore costume) were, like the "Istrian kitchen", early attractions in the ethnological museum of Vienna that opened in 1917. As the Viennese scientists wanted to design their Istrian people, also-communist Yugoslavia looked for the unique one - and encountered original unglazed forms of rural ceramic(s). The today's tourist Istria takes the stone-built round hut (Kazun) as the advertising signpost.

No matter how imperative it is eventually to look for purity, the Istria-traveler baron von Czoernig had already detected in the last century. He diagnosed "the fusion of different departments... even of opposite races, whose spoken dialect consists of the most diverse, hard to untangle elements. One meets right there not only croatized Serbs and serbatized Croats, but also croatized Walachs, furthermore italianized Croats, who partially forgot even their native language, then croatized Italians, with whom this is likewise the case, finally a mixed people, whose costume is Italian, whose custom is Slavic, whose language is a mixture of Serbian and Italian words".

Marine Casino in Pola

More could be offered from the collection of past theories. The Istrians would be directly related to the Kolchern [?], because of the "Semitic sound" of many place names; they would be of Kelto-Illyric descent; they would be Illyric and as such related to the Albanians; they originated partly from Bulgaria, they would be descendants of the Romanian Ciribiri. In 1374 the Istrian hinterland fell under the Habsburg, eight years later Trieste voluntarily fled under the same protection. The Republic of Venice remained the joint owner of Istria up to its fall in 1797, after the short appearance of Napoleon, and from 1815 up to the collapse of the Austro-Hungarian monarchy, Istria was part of its Coastal territories [Kurstenland].

In 1857 the Southern Railway reached Trieste, in 1873 Fiume, in 1876 Pola. Thanks to the Southern Railway, Abbazia evolved into the seaside and healthy air resort of the nobility. In many Istrian families pieces of memory have been kept: the military service, the reliable gendarmery, the social life in the middle class cure halls of the Marine Casino of Pola. Around all that there was work for the farmer and craftsman, and an (Italian) poor person's poetry after the railway construction said: "Now, since we have an iron route, the food in the pot will never be missing again".

Sixty private owners from Istria and many public collections have made this first retrospective possible, on their own country. A land which is geographically clearly understandable, which fascinated with its vagueness and blossomed politically only in Fulvio Tomizza's poetic mind: as a transnational utopia.

Translated by:

  •  © Alberto Martinuzzi for © Istrianet.org

Main Menu


This page compliments of Marisa Ciceran and Alberto Martinuzzi

Created: Monday, April 29, 2002; Last updated: Sunday, August 09, 2015
Copyright © 1998 IstriaNet.org, USA

line_gbg70.gif (2214 bytes)

Museums and Libraries
line_gbg70.gif (2214 bytes)

English

Kaiserliches Küstenland Istrien an der Südbahn

© Der Welt
June 5, 2001

Kaiserliches Küstenland Istrien an der Südbahn In Schloß Kittsee im Burgenland (nahe Hainburg) ist die heurige Sommerausstellung Istrien gewidmet - dem venezianischen, österreichischen, jugoslawischen Küstenland, einer vielgestaltigen Wirklichkeit und reinen Utopie. von hans haider Von einer "Republik Istrien" träumte der 1999 in Triest verstorbene Erzähler Fulvio Tomizza in seinen letzten Jahren: Istrien als Friedensphantasie inmitten der am Balkan neu entflammten Nationalitätenkonflikte - und zugleich Rückbesinnung auf Eigenart und Prosperität im letzten Jahrhundert der k. u. k. Monarchie.

Istrien, Halbinsel zwischen dem österreichischen Triest und dem ungarischen Fiume, war damals keine Winzigkeit an der immensen kroatischen Küstenlinie, sondern ein nächstgelegener Seepark vor dem Grazer und Wiener Hinterland. Istrien ist heute ein kleinwenig slowenisch (Koper, Piran, Portoroz). Der große Rest wurde Teil der Republik Kroatien (Porec, Rovinj, Pula, Pazin, Opatija).

Von Stefanie zu Moskva

An Istriens Spitze, in Pola, dümpelte Österreichs Kriegsmarine - abgedeckt vom offenen Meer durch die Insel Brioni. Ihre privaten Besitzer, die Eisenindustriellen Kupelwieser, hatten Brioni zu einem öffentlichen Garten- und Tierparadies hochgezügelt. Nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg privatisierte sie der Kommunist Tito für sich allein. Das Hotel "Kronprinzessin Stefanie" in Abbazia wurde (Tito war damals noch ostblocktreu) unbenannt in "Moskva". Doch unter Tito durften die Menschen von Istrien wieder jene alten Bräuche, Eigenarten hervorkehren, welche die in Saint-Germain siegreichen Italiener dort ebenso tilgen wollten wie alles Deutsche in Alto Adige. Kristian Sotriffer, als Südtiroler mit solchen Umvolkungsstrategien leidvoll vertraut, hat schon 1972 ein schönes Buch über Istrien und den Karst geschrieben.

Istrien wählte das Österreichische Museum für Volkskunde in seiner Außenstelle in Kittsee heuer zum Sommerthema. Die Schau wird von Oktober bis Jänner ins Wiener Haupthaus in die Laudongasse übersiedeln, im nächsten Frühjahr ins kroatische Pazin (das dortige Etnografiski Muzej Istre ist Mitveranstalter) und vielleicht weiter nach Zagreb. Ein billiges Begleitbuch ("Istrien - Sichtweisen") tut beste Dienste. Die damals junge Wiener Disziplin der Volkskunde wollte im späten 19. Jahrhundert die Völker der Monarchie einander interessanter machen: indem sie, etwa im "Kronprinzenwerk", von überall das Besondere achtungsvoll herausmodellierte.

In der 1848 direkt der Krone unterstellten Region (vor den Römern ein Teil des noch von Shakespeare idealisierten Königreichs Illyrien) suchte man den Ur-Istrier - und glaubte ihn im romanischen oder kroatisch romanischen Mischvolk der von den Küstenweiden in die Berge vertriebenen Tschitschen gefunden zu haben. Sie sollen sogar - so ein besorgter österreichischer Behördenbericht 1830 - in ihrer Isolation "in aller Stille eine eigene Regierung, eine eigene Verfassung und eigene Gesetze aufgestellt haben".

Ein Tschitschenpärchen (zwei Puppen in Tracht) waren wie die "Istrische Küche" frühe Attraktionen des 1917 aufgesperrten Wiener Volkskundemuseums. So wie die Wiener Wissenschaftler ihr istrisches Volk konstruieren wollten, suchte auch das kommunistische Jugoslawien nach dem Einmaligen - und stieß auf urtümliche unglasierte Formen bäuerlicher Keramik. Das heutige touristische Istrien kürte die steingebaute Rundhütte (Kazun) zum Werbe-Signet.

Doch wie müßig es letztlich ist, Reinheit zu suchen, hatte schon schon der Istrien-Reisende Freiherr von Czoernig im vorvorigen Jahrhundert erkannt: Er diagnostizierte "die Verschmelzung verschiedener Abteilungen... selbst der entgegengesetztesten Volksstämme, deren gesprochene Mundart aus den verschiedensten, kaum zu entwirrenden Elementen besteht. Man begegnet daselbst nicht nur kroatisierten Serben und serbisierten Kroaten, sondern auch kroatisierten Wallachen, ferner italianisierten Kroaten, welche zum Teil selbst ihre Muttersprache vergessen haben, dann kroatisierten Italienern, bei denen dies ebenso der Fall ist, schließlich einem Mischvolk, dessen Tracht italienisch, dessen Sitte slawisch, dessen Sprache ein Gemisch von serbischen und italienischen Wörtern ist".

Marine-Kasino in Pola

Aus dem Strauß bisheriger Theorien wäre noch anzubieten: Die Istrier seien, wegen des "semitischen Klangs" vieler Ortsnamen, direkt mit den Kolchern verwandt; sie seien kelto-illyrischer Abstammung; sie seien Illyrer und als solche mit den Albanern verwandt; sie stammten teilweise aus Bulgarien, sie seien Nachfahren der rumänischen Ciribiri. 1374 wurde das istrische Hinterland Habsburg unterstellt, acht Jahre später flüchtete Triest freiwillig unter Habsburgs Schirm. Die Republik Venedig bleibt bis zu ihrem Fall 1797 Miteigentümer in Istrien, nach dem kurzen napoleonischen Gastspiel ist Istrien 1815 bis zum Kollaps der Monarchie Teil des Küstenlandes.

1857 erreicht die Südbahn Triest, 1873 Fiume, 1876 Pola. Abbazia mausert sich dank der Südbahn zum noblen Seebad und Luftkurort. In vielen istrischen Familien haben sich Andenkenstücke erhalten: den Militärdienst, die verläßliche Gendarmerie, Geselligkeit in den bürgerlichen Kursälen, im Marine-Kasino von Pola. Daneben Bauern- und Handwerkerarbeit und (italienische) Arme-Leute-Poesie nach dem Bahnbau: "Jetzt, da wir eine Eisenstraße haben, wird das Essen im Topf nie mehr fehlen".

Sechzig private Leihgeber aus Istrien und viele öffentliche Sammlungen haben diese erste Retrospektive ermöglicht auf ein, auf ihr Land, das geographisch klar faßbar ist, kulturell durch seine Undeutlichkeit bezaubert und politisch nur in Fulvio Tomizzas Dichterkopf noch einmal aufblühte: als eine transnationale Utopie.

Source:

  • http://www.welt.de © All rights reserved.


Main Menu


Created: Monday, April 29, 2002; Last updated: Sunday, August 09, 2015
Copyright © 1998 IstriaNet.org, USA